Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority visited Texas Southern University recently for a bench dedication and to present a check for $10,000 to TSU President Dr. Austin A. Lane as part of their “29 Moments of Service” and the #ThinkHBCU initiative. The AKAs are preparing for their biennial conference to be held July 6-12 in Houston. International President of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated Dorothy Buckhanan Wilson, the Gamma Psi chapter and local sorority members braved a rainy morning to honor trailblazing students who first enrolled at TSU in 1927 and the nearly 10,000 students currently attending the University. A $10,000 donation was presented and was matched by the TSU Foundation for a total endowed scholarship of $20,000. Attendees included Connie Cochran, Deidra Fontaine, Councilmembers Amanda Edwards and Martha Castex-Tatum, Rakayla Robertson, Deshara L. Goss, Genell Gill, DiAnn Robinson, Orlando Sutton, Lashawn Hamb, Dr. Dyonne Browder, Sidnee Browder, Dr. Polly Turner, Dr. Demetress Price Wright, Lisa Brooks, Pat Roberts, Jarra Collins, Gwen Brinkley, Emerald Green and many more.