The Association of Rice University Black Alumni recently hosted its Blueprint for Excellence Gala at The Bell Tower.

The event celebrated fifty years of black undergraduate life at Rice University. Proceeds from the event are used to establish a legacy endowment to promote diversity initiatives. Guests were treated to a musical performance by Aruba Quartet. Honorees included Dr. Alex Byrd, Andrea Ehlers, Joseph Branch, Janis Scott, Rodrigo Barnes, Roland B. Smith, and Jan West.

In attendance were David Leebron, Donald N. Bowers, Akilah Mance, Angela Berry Roberson, Monique Shankle, Teddy Adams Jr., Tevelia Rose Barnes, Jeff Rose, Kevin Kirby, Marie Lynn Miranda, Linda Thrane, Darrow Zeidenstein, Anthony Wills, Dana Hogan, Stephen Mcvea, Blessing Falade, Kathryn Hoo, Emerson Zora Hamsa, Janis N. Hamsa, De’Anna M. Daniels and a host of Rice alumni and friends.

Leave a comment