Houston-area voters will go to the polls on Tuesday, Nov. 5 to help shape the city’s future. Houstonians will elect a mayor, City Councilmembers, and HISD and Houston Community College board trustees.

Metro is asking voters to approve a $3.5 billion dollar bond measure to help pay for such projects as new bus lines, rebuilt transit centers and expanded light rail.

Voters across Texas will weigh in on 10 proposed amendments to the state constitution. Amendments cover such issues as Texas Water Development Board bonds, individual income taxes and increased distributions to the Available School Fund.

Here is a list of Black candidates on the ballot:


Kendall Baker

Dwight A. Boykins 

Demetria Smith

Johnny “J.T.” Taylor

Sylvester Turner 


At-Large Position 1

Larry Blackmon

Georgia Provost 

At-Large Position 2 

Willie R. Davis 

At-Large Position 3

Janaeya Carmouche 

Marcel McClinton

At-Large Position 4

Tiko Hausman 

James “Joe” Joseph

Ericka McCrutcheon

Letitia Plummer

At-Large Position 5

J. Brad Batteau

Michelle Bonton

Catherine Garcia Flowers

Marvin McNeese Jr.

Ashton P. Woods

District A 

Marina Angelica Coryat

Iesheia Ayers-Wilson

District B 

Robin J. Anderson

Cynthia Bailey

Prince E.W. Bryant II

Broderick F. Butler

Alvin D. Byrd 

Karisma D. Gillam 

Tarsha Jackson

Alice Kirkmon

Karen “KKC” Kossie-Chernyshev

Kenneth Perkins

Renee Jefferson Smith 

Ben White, Jr.

Huey German-Wilson

District C

Gladys House

District D

Anthony Kirk Allen 

Carla Brailey

Andrew C. Burks, Jr. 

Rashad Cave 

Marlon A. Christian

Dennis Griffin

Mike Grissom 

T. “Nissi” Hamilton 

Brad “Scarface” Jordan

Travis McGee

Dontrell L. Montgomery 

Ken Moore

Jerome Provost

Carolyn Evans-Shabazz

Terrill D. Thomas

District F 

Anthony Nelson

Tiffany D. Thomas

District J

Edward Pollard

District K

Martha Castex-Tatum 

Gerry Vander-Lyn


District 2

Katherine Blueford-Daniels

Jevon German

John C. Gibbs

Cris Moses

District 4

Patricia K. Allen 

Matt Barnes 

Reagan Flowers

Larry McKinzie 


District 2

Kathy Lynch-Gunter

Linda Murray 

Brendon Singh 

Rhonda Skillern-Jones

District 7

Cynthia Lenton-Gary


* Vote early through Nov. 1

* Election Day is Nov. 5