A year of hard work paid off for five students who received college scholarships during the Yates School of Communications Annual “Best of the Best” Awards Banquet held on Friday, April 28, in Houston City Hall’s Legacy Room.

The annual banquet was the culminating event where Magnet Program Coordinator Ted Irving, Yates High School Principal Kenneth Davis, along with Yates educators, parents and community leaders gathered to recognize top excelling students in commercial photography, graphic arts, printing technology, radio broadcasting, and narrative film and sports media.

Of the 20 students recognized, the following students emerged as the “best of the best” receiving each a $500 college scholarship, a certificate of achievement from Houston Mayor Sylvester Turner, and a medal of recognition:

  • C’ne Malveaux, Printing Technology, presented by Ronnie Morgan
  • Jalesha Bass, Radio Broadcasting, presented by Andrea Brown
  • Reginald Pierre-Antoine, Narrative Film and Sports Media, presented by Tyrone Dargins
  • Jameisha Johnson, Graphic Design, presented by Ted Irving
  • Kenyell Banks, Photography, presented by Ray Carrington

The attendees also enjoyed keynote remarks by director, filmmaker Greg Carter on the topic “Understanding Showbiz: From Houston to Hollywood and Beyond.” Carter shared communications industry trends, plus how to prepare for the future of content generation and distribution.

KRIV Fox 26 anchor Jose’ Grinan emceed the program and shared anecdotes from his own career.

Other festivities included a surprise visit by Texans mascot Toro, music by DJ SupaStar, gift bags for every student, and behind-the-scenes tours of Houston Television’s studio and Council Chambers.

Several sponsors made the scholarships and event possible including Gold Sponsors: Houston Defender Media Group, Houston Endowment (Anthony “Tony” Chase), Wheeler Avenue Baptist Church, and Windsor Village United Methodist Church; Silver Sponsors: Gerald Smith, Gerald Womack, and Holman Street Baptist Church; Bronze Sponsors: Judge John Peavy and Mayberry Homes Inc.; with special thanks to: Mayor Sylvester Turner, Houston Television including Dwight Williams and Terri Carter, Darian Ward, Houston First, and Jason’s Deli.

Students interested in applying to the Yates School of Communications magnet program may access an application on the Houston Independent School District website. Applications will be accepted for the 2017-2018 school year through August 11, 2017.

Leave a comment